The blog is back. Happy 2014!

Welcome back to the Cliff Mine Archaeology Project blog. I started this blog back in the spring of 2010 to follow research that formed the heart of my Master’s thesis. I continued working at Cliff for the next two summers, focusing on excavations at the mine’s stamp mill location. In 2012, additional student researchers joined in the Project, Lee Presley and Roger Gerke. Lee and Roger were more interested in the townsite of Clifton, while I was primarily concerned with the industrial core of the mine itself. In 2013, I left the project to work at another historic mining location near Copper Harbor, MI, leaving the Cliff project’s research aims in the hands of Lee (I was still involved, not just directly in terms of research design). Her work is concerned with food ways in the Copper Country and continued excavations (begun the year previous) in a possible food processing area close to Cliff Drive.

I haven’t contributed to this blog in quite awhile (August of 2012, actually), but I’ve been asked to start up again in order for readers to follow the next phase of the project. This next phase is the nominating of the Cliff mine and Clifton to the National Register of Historic Places. I know, how hasn’t this happened already?

In the coming weeks and months, I will be blogging about my experiences going through the forms and the decision making processes that go into writing a National Register nomination. I’ve never done one of these before, so it’ll be a learning experience for all of us.

I hope I can also add some posts from other researchers related to the Cliff project. I know there have been a couple of academic conferences in the last few months that had speakers from Michigan Tech talking about Cliff and Clifton. I’m hoping to rope a few of these presenters into adding a post about their experiences at these conferences.

So stay tuned. And it’s nice to be back.

Sean Gohman

About Sean Gohman

Currently a PhD Degree seeking student in the Michigan Tech University's Industrial Heritage and Archaeology program.

2 responses to “The blog is back. Happy 2014!”

  1. Joe Dancy says :

    Awesome Sean, thanks!

  2. Mary Hill says :

    Glad you are back Sean!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 73 other followers

