The Cliff Mine Research Team, Part II: Timothy Scarlett

Dr. Tim Scarlett

My name is Tim Scarlett and I’m an Associate Professor in the Industrial Heritage and Archaeology Program in the Department of Social Sciences at Michigan Technological University.  I’m one of the faculty collaborating with Sean Gohman on his study at the Cliff Mine site this summer, along with Samuel Sweitz, Patrick Martin, and our colleagues, including Michael Falkowski from the School of Forestry Resources and Environmental Sciences.

I’ve been interested in the archaeology of miners and mining for a long time, so I’m excited to be part of this important project.  This is my first opportunity to teach a field school in the Keweenaw Peninsula since joining the faculty at Michigan Tech.  I write blogs about my other research collaborations, including the Utah Pottery Project, the West Point Foundry Archaeology Project, and Industrial Archaeology Blog.

Tags: , , , ,

About Timothy James Scarlett

Associate Professor of Archaeology at Michigan Technological University.

Leave a Reply

