Photos from June 12th (Public Tours)

Today we held public tours of the mine site from 10:00 am to 4:00 pm. Here are a few pictures from the day.

Lisa, Steve, and Sam looking over drawings while working in the shadow of the stamp mill steam stack.

The art of measured drawing.

Sean (middle facing front) leading the first tour of the day.

Jessica handling the survey rod duties while Sawyer (upper right) lines up a shot with the digital mapping unit.

A wheel pit in the engine house.

A 160(?) year old wood plank imbedded within the engine house's wall.

Tags: , , , ,

About Sean Gohman

Currently a PhD Degree seeking student in the Michigan Tech University's Industrial Heritage and Archaeology program.

One response to “Photos from June 12th (Public Tours)”

  1. Patrick Parker says :

    Sean,
    I thoroughly enjoyed looking over your articles and postings…After I graduated from Tech I been working in the Power industry and have always been interetsed in old mechanical things, history, wrecked equipment, etc. (while I was at Tech, I rebuilt a small reciprocating steam engine for Asst Prof Gibson in the ME dept)..But the history of the Copper country is fascinating (my wife and I lived in Marquette for about 7 years).. My wife wanted badly to go into archeology but her parents wanted her to do something ‘sensible’ like teaching so she went to OSU and got her masters in special ed.
    When I first heard about Techs program in Industrial Archeology, I was sore tempted to go back, but with a family that’s tough (especially when your kids are in college as well!)
    But maybe when I retire…In the mean time, if you need any help, I may can come up to help dig or clear brush on your next project!!
    Thanks
    Pat

Leave a Reply

