Thanks to the Society of Women Engineers

I just wanted to take a moment to thank the Michigan Tech chapter of the Society of Women Engineers for inviting myself and my colleague (and fellow Cliff researcher) Lee Sweitz to come and talk to them about our research interests. Lee and I spoke for about an hour on Cliff’s history, the archaeology we’ve been conducting there over the last couple years, and the foodways of people living in the area during mid to late nineteenth century.

The members of SWE were a great audience. Lots of great questions and a willingness to learn about a topic that might be a little outside their typical fields of study.We are always grateful to talk to people interested in what we do. Its kind of the whole point of doing the research, right?

I was told earlier in the week that, “History is for sharing.” I hope our talk for the SWE gave us an opportunity to do just that.

And I should add that the day before the talk the blog received 293 hits. I assume these were mostly from SWE members. That’s a banner day for the blog! Thanks again!

Tags: , , , ,

About Sean Gohman

Currently a PhD Degree seeking student in the Michigan Tech University's Industrial Heritage and Archaeology program.

2 responses to “Thanks to the Society of Women Engineers”

  1. Lee Sweitz says :

    Let me second that hearty thank you to SWE. Sean and I very much appreciated the opportunity to share what we have learned so far about Cliff Mine, its related communities, and our plans for the coming field season. We hope to see you all out at Cliff in June!

  2. Joe Dancy says :

    The discussion of the agriculture side of the operation was a real interesting twist to the mining operation I was told. Feedback from SWE was very positive – wish I was there to heat it!

    Good luck this spring & summer at the site – I did some hiking up there last weekend; weather was great and so peaceful

Leave a Reply

