A Belated Thanks

Thanks to those who attended my “Brown Bag” presentation on Keweenaw County’s early copper milling history last Wednesday  (April 11th). I was able to talk about a lot of topics (probably too many) and show loads of maps and photos. It was a great way for me to work through and get comments on some of the avenues of research I either need  to address further or maybe put on the back burner for now.

This presentation is currently being modified— i.e.-shorted by 30 minutes and more focused— for the upcoming Society for Industrial Archeology (SIA) Conference in Cincinnati, May 31 – June 3. I was recently awarded a $500 travel grant from the SIA to attend and present on my milling related research (Cliff Mine included), and am really looking forward to the networking opportunities. (Images courtesy of Mark Dice, 2012)

About Sean Gohman

Currently a PhD Degree seeking student in the Michigan Tech University's Industrial Heritage and Archaeology program.

2 responses to “A Belated Thanks”

  1. dcclark says :

    Very cool, Sean. Is there any chance of getting a copy of your slides, for those of us who couldn’t make it?

    • Sean Gohman says :

      Honestly, at this point I’m not comfortable with sharing some of this info outside a presentation. Much of it was collected on private property and there are locations of structures/remains not well known (and in some cases barely touched) given and I don’t want that info just floating out in the ether.

      One of the problems with my research is that this info (if disseminated) could lead to a loss of context at these sites. At some point, most likely when I am done documenting, I’ll make it all public.

Leave a Reply

